Good Grief: 29 Years and Counting

Grief 29 years

Grief

It struck me today, that I have spent half of my life grieving over my stillborn son. How did that happen? I was 29 then, and 58 now. That’s half my life!

Some years have been easier than others. For some reason this year has not been a good one. There have been days in February that I have just curled up under a duvet and slept. I can’t even say it was a hygge day, as no reading, film watching or hot chocolate was involved.

I came across this poem which sums it up nicely. Credit to Laura Ding-Edwards of Herefordshire

If the mountain seems too big today

then climb a hill instead

if the morning brings you sadness

then stay in bed instead

if the day ahead weighs heavy

and your plans feel like a curse

there’s no shame in rearranging

don’t make yourself feel worse

if a shower stings like needles

and a bath as if you’ll drown

if you haven’t washed your hair for days

don’t throw away your crown

a day is not a lifetime

a rest is not defeat

don’t think of it as failure

just a quiet nice retreat

it’s okay to take a moment

from an anxious fractured mind

the world will not stop turning

while you get realigned

the mountain will still be there

when you want to try again

you can climb it in your own time

just love yourself til then.

My mountain climbing training has taken a bit of a back seat, for a day or two. Tomorrow is the anniversary, and being a Tuesday, it should be a hill-walking day with the group. I will see how I feel, that is all I can hope for.

If you have been upset by this post, then please take care of yourself, and be kind to yourself.

Blessings

Joy

Leave a comment