From Gloom to Bloom on Therapy Thursday

This week I revisited the work of Deepak Chopra and his “chemicals of emotion” and was inspired to do a meditation to see what my main receptor was in my cells, and then attempt to replace them with more positive ones. Deepak calls them either connection or separation emotions and I was expecting to have pre-dominantally separation ones, due to my relinquishment history. I fully expected my receptors to be programmed for rejection or desparation, after all, that is what happened at zero hour in my life.

Here is my experience in this meditation:

Lying on the sofa under the duvet is my preferred place to meditate, I think it’s because it connects me to the time I was in the womb, as the place that I feel safe and secure to explore these feelings.

Using my usual method of breathing deeply I waited to sink deep within my body, and asked to link in to my emotion receptors. Once I had done that, I asked them what they were receptors for. I really wasn’t prepared for the answer, but I wasn’t surprised:

Gloom and Despair

My emotional receptors are programmed for gloom and despair, which didn’t sound good, so I set about weeding them out. In my mind I visualised pulling the receptors out, like weeds in the garden that are choking the flowers. I tuned into my body and asked where to start. I was guided to the right side of my neck and started pulling the weed that was there. It went into my shoulder joint, up my neck and into my head. I felt as if the roots were wrapped around my brain, and I gently teased them out.

What was I going to do with them once they’d been weeded out? I couldn’t leave them lying around, they would just re-root themselves, so I visualised the burning of the weeds, and the ashes being sprinkled on the soil, to provide feed for the new flowers that were going to bloom there. I planted some new plants. They are alpine plants as I recognise that the soil is thin and sparse, but with further meditation and visualisation I hope to get the soil rich enough to plant something substantial. What should I plant?

What do you think are your dominant emotion receptors? Are you happy with them or would you like to replace them. If you try my method, pleae let me know how you get on. I would love to hear.

Have a wonderful Easter weekend.

Blessings and Joy, Joy

Leave a comment