Couch Potato to 10k Week 2

Things have not quite gone to plan this week. All was going well. I’d ordered a new pair of trainers so that I had a pair for the gym and a pair to run outside in, along with leggings and sports bras. My plan: once I managed 5 k on the treadmill I would go and join the rest of the Park Run community in my local park at 9.30 am on Saturday morning. I have set my goal as being in February.

Monday I did as my taining plan suggested, I did 15 gentle run, on the treadmill, bettering my times that I had done on Friday. I was well pleased with myself. Then came Wednesday!

Wednesday the training pcouch-potato-to-10-k-week-2lan said 25 minutes. I have to admit, I wasn’t looking forward to it, but I set out with PBs for 1 k in my mind. But my legs told me other things. They felt heavy, like I had been on my feet all day. It reminded me of my nursing days, when the workload was so heavy, I didn’t get a chance to sit down on the entire shift. Heavy and difficulty picking the leg up to run. I ended up doing the 25 minutes but mainly at a walking pace.

The next day was a rest day. I was very aware that my legs hurt along the bones. Is it the muscle attachments growing stronger? That’s what it felt like. I had to remind myself that these bones are 56 years young, not as young as they used to be, and therefore need gradual increase in use, to allow my body to adapt slowly to the improvement that I seek. I took 5000g of collagen to help these growing attachments.

During a twitter hour, #uklatehour, I tweeted with Susan at Vie-Fit. She had some great advice, and shared her blog post on stretching with me. Check it out They felt no better, and by Friday I decided to cut out the training altogether, rather than doggedly train and risk an injury.

So the weekend I am spending re-evaluating my training plan, and deciding to repeat each week of the plan, so that I do it twice, and see how that goes, starting on Monday. For now I am concentrating on being aware of my age and capabilities.

Blessings Joy

6 thoughts on “Couch Potato to 10k Week 2

  1. I am going to be 69 on Tuesday, and am the fittest I have ever been. I started 4 years ago, and gradually worked myself up to boxing/kickboxing, lifting, circuit training, Zumba, and so much more. If you get tired ease off. We all have our off days, and yes I do 20 minutes stretching before any exercise.

      • Sorry to hear that, I know what you mean the cold and damp haven’t been great for training I’ve suffered myself a bit.
        Glad to hear you’re back on it now though. If I can help in any way give me a shout on Twitter via private message.

        Take care for now
        Susan 🙂

Leave a Reply

