My Thigh is Now My Waist (or What Have I learnt This Week)

So I have come to the end of my first week of training for a 10 k run and I am reflecting back on what I have learnt.

Lesson No 1: First of all I was kidding myself about how fit I was and how svelte I am.

I measured myself, and came to the conclusion that I might be a Jelly Baby but my body shape is more of a pear drop! Vital Statistics 32-33-43 DD. And the worst thing I discovered is that the girth of my thigh is now the size that my waist measured when I was in my 20’s and 30’s, pre-childbirth. I hope to dispel the myth that age and child-bearing means that you gain pounds and inches purely becasue you have done 1 or both of those things.

Lesson No 2: This running lark is addicitive, or maybe it’s trying to beat your previous goal that is. My first training day was just a gentle introduction back to the treadmill. I managed 1 km in just over 10 seconds. My personal best Yahoo!

The next day I was keen to see if I could beat that, but my 10 week training guide said that it should be a rest day, so I walked on the treadmill and put an incline in instead. Boy did my legs ache the next day. By day 3 I had the 1 k down to just over 8 minutes and I managed a mil in 15 minutes. Umph after the try!fork push limits pilgrim

Lesson No 3: Collagenย  really really works on post-workout muscular aches and pains. I have been recommending it to people for 4 years now, but in that time have never really challenged myself to see the effect. Now I have, and I am amazed. Since starting just a week ago, my old aches and twinges returned in my legs. I went for a massage on my legs, which helped temporarily, but not for long. I took collagen yesterday, and woke up this morning feeling great in my legs, I can run up and down the stairs no problem.

Summary of Change: PB for 1 km is now 8 mins 37 secs. I can run a 15 minuts mile!

I have lost 2 lbs

Have you been motivated by my posts? Would you like to join me in my quest to train for a 10 km run? I would love to hear your journey. Let me know how you are getting on.

Blessings Joy

 

 

6 thoughts on “My Thigh is Now My Waist (or What Have I learnt This Week)

  1. Go you! I love running and was laid up with a broken hip this past year. I’d been training for a trail run event that would have been super hard, but impossible with a hip fracture. My problem: I didn’t listen to my body and follow a good plan. I like your approach to your training and am excited to hear more about your progress!

    • Thank you Angela, much appreciate your encouragement. I hope you recover fully from your broken hip so that you can achieve your goal. The bug hasn’t quite bitten yet, but I am sure give it another week or 2 and it might ๐Ÿ˜‰ Blessings Joy

  2. I’m not a runner, I’m more into lifting, but I will do interval running and I find that hard. I’m amazed at the endurance runners have. You are off to a great start! Keep on running:) Great work, stay on it! Here’s to another productive week!

Leave a Reply

