27 degress and only 7 am

Our last day, and the first day that hubby and I have got up early and gone for a walk along the beach. The temperature gauge on the car said 27 degrees at 7.11 am, boy I think it is going to be a hot one today.

We have in the past either got up early, or gone for a walk at sunset, along the beach, once the madding crowds are away. I have to admit, people are not my thing. To be there when there are very few people about is wonderful. To gaze out to sea, and imagine that I am living several hundreds of years ago, and dreaming about what was across the Ocean, over the horizon, is what I like best. Even my hubby annoys me, when he stands in my view and blocks my vision. He did it several times this morning, and I moved away, eventually he got the message, and stood behind me, protecting me, whilst I stared out, and imagined.

Today I saw something on the beach for the first time. The first thing I noticed was lots of seagulls, hovering over the sea just metres from the beach, and I was curious as to what the were feeding off. It then became clear as we discovered little fish, like whiting, stranded on the beach. Damn I wish I’d had my camera on me this morning. The first few we saw were flapping, and so we carefully picked them up and placed them back into the sea, to await thier fate. Would they survive the seagulls that were offshore?

Not long after that, the fish we found seemed to have very little life in them, but still we returned them to the sea, but after about 10 minutes, the ones on the sand were stiff and lifeless. We were too late to save them, and it would appear that they would not even keep the food chain alive, as nothing seemed too interested in using their poor forlorn bodies as nourishment for themselves.

Have we left it too late? Tomorrow we leave the villa at 8.30 am. Will we get another walk on the beach in the cooler temperatures, before we fly home tomorrow? Best get packing if I want to go for it!

Blessings JoyActivity, movement, physical exercise, health, joy, plato

 

Leave a Reply

