24 Hours Later

It has been a full 24 hours since I stood on this spot and watched my daughter’s plane take off, as she headed back home, leaving me on holiday with my husband (MB) and my MIL.DSC_0270 I'm Leaving on a Jet Plane

Hubby and I spent a lovely morning exploring the old parts of Faro. This put me in my element, I love exploring old towns and cities, I almost have the sense of having lived in those times, and I know the twist and turn of the narrow streets. Our holiday has taken a twist of it’s own too, since my DD left.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There has been a sense of serene-ness, interspersed with some paranoia from my MIL. She accused me of “going into her room early this morning, and telling, nay demanding, that she should get up”, she told my hubby. At this point I had not even set 1 foot downstairs, and hubby knew this, so for once I heard him defending me. All too often I hear her saying things, and he doesn’t defend me, but in this instance he did. Much as I think that she needs to kick her own arse out of bed, before this holiday is completely over, and we are heading back to the UK, I hadn’t actually said it out loud…..I hadn’t even set 1 foot down the stairs at this point.

MIL has now gone into whimpering child mode, which really sets my darker side on alert. I really must try and remain calm, so that I can enjoy the rest of my time here. Husband is now piggy-in-the-middle as he tries to get her to at least get dressed and go out once in the holiday. So far she has remained in a nightie. It is 10 days now! I can hear her whimpering to him, but we really do need to get her out so that the cleaners can get in and clean the villa, including her room!

2 HOURS LATER:

Well we managed to get her dressed, and take her out to lunch. What a saga that was, she moaned and groaned all the time we were out. Nothing that we did could make her say anything pleasant. It was too hot, her feet hurt, her legs hurt, she didn’t want anything to eat, she wanted to go back and lie down on the bed. We went for a short drive after the non-event of lunch, and she was like a spoilt child, just wanting her own way all the time. Hubby wanted to take her round the area to show her the work that had been taking placce since she was last there. Well she refused to even look out the window. I realised that I sometimes act like this, and that her behaviour is a mirror being held up to me. I vowed that I would try and be a little bit more pleasant to MB in future.

Well only another 2 full days here. I will miss this place, but I sincerely hope that this is the last time we bring MIL. Her health is just not up to the journey, and then the heat. This saga is about to come to an end. I will now look forward to holidaying out here in the future and seeing more of the Algarve than I have done in the past.

Blessings Joy

Leave a Reply

