Playfulness Returns

For much of my adult life I have had the responsibility of being a single parent, and I think it led to me loosing some of my playfulness for a while. I took my parenting role very seriously. For example I never drank alcohol when I was on my own with my daughter, because it would have left me unable to care for her, had she fallen ill and needed taking to hospital.

Even on holidays that we had when she was a young child, I perhaps did not let my hair down too much as I should, as I believed that I should act like an adult, and to that you may possibly read boring. Added to that I had a car accident when my daughter was 6, and for the next 3 years I was in a lot of pain, and being playful was something I was not.

Playing Grow Old George Bernard Shaw

So these past 9 days it has been good to do some playful things with her, as adults. Here are some photos of us on holiday doing fun things together.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As I write this and look at others who have writen for the Daily Prompt of Playful, I come across A Sunken Thought who talks about her Mom as a single parent, and I begin to remember playful things that I did do, when my daughter was younger. To make Christmas a bit more fun, when it was just the 2 of us, I would make a Treasure Hunt out of her presents, and write her clues that she had to solve to win a present. When we moved to Scotland when she was 11, I had exhausted all my clue writing talents, so when I came across some mice in stockings, I bought a dozen, and now every Christmas I hide those, 1 for each present. Maybe I am playful after all.

What have you done today to be playful?

Blessings Joy

Dailp Prompt Word Playful https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/playful/

3 thoughts on “Playfulness Returns

  1. It is always good to have some form of playfulness in one’s life, it makes the hard times easier to deal with and enhances the quality of existence. I am glad that my post brought back memories of happy times, and thank you for the pingback šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

