The Holiday Saga Begins

Well we have arrived, Hubby, Mother in Law, my Daughter and myself, in the villa which is going to be the space we inhabit for the next 2 weeks. For those of you who read Saga, you will know that this is an annual “treat” for me, bringing my MIL to her time-share villa in Portugal. 30 odd years ago my MIL had the misfortune of falling victim to Guillam Barre, a virus which affects the nervous system, which in turn affects the muscles of the poor victim. And so for 30 years, she has walked with the aid of  a frame. She is now 84, having had her birthday just 10 days before we came out here.

And now we are here!

Today is a recovery day, MIL has not yet surfaced, other than the comfort breaks. It is 11 am. I don’t expect to see much of her before Tuesday.

I have spent a few hours outside in the sun already. I like to build up slowly. Living in Scotland we have little chance to start a tan off before we leave, so I sunbathe between 9 and 11, and then again after 3pm  There is the reason of Andy Murray in the French Open Tennis tournment to watch this afternoon, to bring me in out of the mid-day sun. My holiday was looking even bleaker last week, when he took 5 sets in the first 2 rounds. How would I have coped without Andy to retreat to our room with?

At the last minute of leaving home, I grabbed a book from the bookcase. I randomly pick up books wherever I see second hand ones and add them to the bookcase for travels like this, airport/holiday reads. Nothing too strenous on the old brain cells. Le Carre is definitely a no-no for airports and planes. Without my glasses on to really read the title, I grabbed The Sea Lady. The gist of it is that 2 adults, who met during one summer as children, are on a collision course to meet again. They share a past, which at the moment we are not too privy to. What fascinates me is that the beginning of the book is the 2 characters reminiscing over the past. The cost of scone tea in  /- and d. (shillings and pence), the candlewick bedspreads and seersucker bathing costumes. All things so reminiscent of my past, and good reminders when I need to go back into my childhood, for my new blog. Still chewing the title over in my head. I am hoping that this holiday will see some definite moves forward on that, so please keep checking back.

Weather; 21 degrees celsius

Clouds; Negative

Book; The Sea Lady: Margaret Drabble

Swimming; Zero

Classic comment from Mummy’s Boy today.

Me; Looking for the port for my camera card on my new laptop; “everythings moved!”

Hubby: “It’s not moved, it’s just in a different place”

So for now there are no photos to show you, as everything has moved! Apart from MIL, she is still in bed.

This 1 is of 3 years ago!

portugal breakfast algarve holiday timeshare lisbon

Holiday Breakfasts

How’s your Sunday?

Blessings Joy

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Holiday Saga Begins

  1. Pingback: This Pilgrim's Progress

Leave a Reply

