Diving Buddy?

Urban Dictionary: buddy

Top Definition. buddy. 1. friend, pal, compatriot, someone you don’t know the name of, someone you don’t want to tell the name of 2. close friend, pal, compatriot

Definitely an American term I think, we in the UK would use pal, mate, love , duck, hen depending on our geographical location..

I have only ever used the term buddy to refer to someone that I have trusted with my life to accompany me on a scuba dive. It is not wise to dive alone, and it is wise to chose your diving buddy carefully.

You need to be able to trust them to be able to rescue you, should you need it, whilst underwater. They need to be able to get you to the surface, swim with you to safety whilst performing mouth to mouth resuscitation if necessary. You also need to be able to trust them to share your oxygen tank with you, should your air supply be interrupted. I certainly would not be diving with someone who I did not know the name of, or I didn’t want to tell the name, as in definition 1. Definition 2 sounds much more applicable for my diving buddy.

DSC_0015

Snorkelling does not require a Buddy

My husband is my best friend, but I wouldn’t take him diving, he is not my buddy.

I took my first exam for scuba diving and then thought I would wait until the better weather to continue with the second part. I got pregnant. My daughter is now my best buddy.

Who is yours?

Blessings Joy

 

 

3 thoughts on “Diving Buddy?

  1. Buddy is a term for friend, here in Australia. Isn’t language interesting, how it changes from place to place and over time. It really is a living thing !

Leave a Reply

