Never Underestimate Me

This post could be prompted by truth or honesty, because as soon as I saw the word Underestimate, I had something that came to mind, and it all revolves around being honest and sticking to your truth.

11 years ago I was involved in a car accident. I was driving up the road, and had just overtaken 2 parked cars and had returned to my side of the road, but when I was on the opposite side of the road, a car came round the corner, 200 yards up the road. The driver was an inexperienced 18 year old who had just passed his test a few months previously. He panicked, and slammed his foot on the brake, skidding on the wet road, and ended up swinging through 180 degrees, and ended up facing up the same way as I was facing. It looked as though he had cut me up and mis-judged the pull-in. Anyway the police were called, we both gave our statements, and all seemed quite straight forward, until a letter arrived from the insurance company.

His statement had changed to say that I had pulled out in front of him, he had swerved to avoid me, and I had driven INTO HIM!!!

To cut a long story short, my insurance company advised me to agree to 50/50 liability. Everybody underestimated my need for the truth to win out.

I would put money on his insurer’s saying “She’ll back down. She has no proof, there were no witnesses. She won’t want to go to court to contest it!”

Well how wrong were they. Never underestimate me where the truth is concerned, I will fight tooth and nail to get justice for those involved. No stone will be un-turned. To get my claim to court, just to determine liability, I had to contact the police and threaten to complain about the way they handled the case, as my insurance company kept telling me that there were no police records. The only way that I could get them released, was to write a letter. I had a lovely letter back telling me that of course the police records could be released.

We ended up going to court. The police were asked as witnesses, with their statements that we had made on the night. What a waste of taxpayers money. I was awarded liability in my favour,  the third party  was 100% liable.

Never underestimate me where the truth is hidden. Should I be offering my services for anybody wanting to get justice?

Have you ever been underestimated? I would love to hear your story.

Blessings Joy

PS I could have written about Prayer: Never Underestimate the Power of Prayer, or healing, never Underestimate the Innate ability of your own body to heal itself. Maybe these are topics that I will write about in the future. Truth or Lie

One thought on “Never Underestimate Me

Leave a Reply

